Focus & Scope

Theatre Research in Canada/Recherches théâtrales au Canada is Canada’s only peer-reviewed journal with an explicit focus on Canadian and québécois theatre in both official languages. As such, it provides a necessary forum for the dissemination of scholarly research that uses the full range of critical approaches applied to the study of theatre as a multidisciplinary art, in the context of the cultures of Canada and Quebec.

Current Issue

39.1: General Issue

This general issue includes articles from two senior academics and two emerging scholars, on topics ranging from Robertson Davies at the Shaw Festival to site-specific performance in Newfoundland, plus two extended Forum contributions on pressing issues in our field right now. We are also excited to debut our expanded digital content with this issue; look for an in depth and interactive review of 2017’s Postmarginal Symposium and Project.

Read More »

Upcoming Issue

39.2: General Issue

Our next issue traverses women’s theatrical labour from a diverse range of perspectives. Shelley Scott revisits the legacy of Gwen Pharis Ringwood; Laine Zisman Newman theorizes “lesbian rush” through Jess Dobkin’s The Magic Hour; Cathleen McKague catches up with Robertson Davies in the margins of his 1949 production script for The Taming of the Shrew; and much more.

Read More »

About Us

About Us

Focus & Scope

Theatre Research in Canada/Recherches théâtrales au Canada is Canada’s only peer-reviewed journal with an explicit focus on Canadian and québécois theatre in both official languages. As such, it provides a necessary forum for the dissemination of scholarly research that uses the full range of critical approaches applied to the study of theatre as a multidisciplinary art, in the context of the cultures of Canada and Quebec.

Read More »

Politique éditoriale

Recherches théâtrales au Canada est la seule revue canadienne arbitrée consacrée entièrement au théâtre canadien et québécois dans les deux langues officielles. Elle offre un forum essentiel à la diffusion de recherches savantes qui font appel à diverses approches critiques appliquées à l’étude du théâtre comme art multidisciplinaire dans le contexte des cultures canadiennes et québécoises.

Dernier numéro

38.2: Bousculer la scène unilingue: 
Pratiques théâtrales bi- et plurilingues au Canada

Ce numéro thématique propose de mettre côte à côte des artistes et des chercheurs qui s’intéressent à différentes combinaisons linguistiques du théâtre au Canada. L’idée est de dépasser l’étude des langues du théâtre au Québec et au Canada francophone, et même celle du bilinguisme au Canada, pour traiter des multiples formes des langues et du théâtre au Canada.

En savoir plus »

À paraître

39.1: Numéro Libre

Ce numéro libre comprend des articles de deux universitaires établis et de deux chercheurs émergents sur des sujets allant de Robertson Davies au festival Shaw, en passant par des spectacles in situ à Terre-Neuve. De plus, deux contributions à la section Forum répondent de questions pressantes dans notre domaine d’étude. Enfin, nous sommes ravis de lancer une version plus expansive de notre contenu numérique avec ce numéro; vous y trouverez le compte rendu approfondi et interactif du symposium Postmarginal qui s’est déroulé à Toronto en 2017.

En savoir plus »

Politique éditoriale

Politique éditoriale

Politique éditoriale

Recherches théâtrales au Canada est la seule revue canadienne arbitrée consacrée entièrement au théâtre canadien et québécois dans les deux langues officielles. Elle offre un forum essentiel à la diffusion de recherches savantes qui font appel à diverses approches critiques appliquées à l’étude du théâtre comme art multidisciplinaire dans le contexte des cultures canadiennes et québécoises.

En savoir plus »