Author Guidelines

Submissions, in English or French, should be sent to the following address:

The Editor
Theatre Research in Canada
c/o Graduate Centre for Drama, Theatre and Performance Studies
University of Toronto
214 College Street, 3rd Floor
Toronto, ON
M5T 2Z9 Canada
FAX: 1-416-971-1378
Email: tric.rtac@utoronto.ca
Website: www.tricrtac.ca

Theatre Research in Canada / Recherches théâtrales au Canada welcomes submissions that draw from a range of critical and historical approaches applied to the study of theatre and performance, in the context of the cultures of Canada and Quebec. For our (non-peer reviewed) Forum section we will consider position papers, commentary on issues of significance to the journal’s mandate, information about new and old projects, and research notes. We will also consider the publication of fully annotated documentary evidence, normally appended to articles.

All submissions are refereed through a peer-review assessment process (please see the following Submissions Response Schedule). Full articles should normally be no longer than 7,000 words, typed double-spaced, following the internal editorial style found in the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing –3rd Edition (New York: Modern Language Association, 2008). Please submit articles, along with an abstract and brief biographical note, via email attachment (in Word). Please employ an absolute minimum of document formatting in all electronic submissions (beyond the indentation of quotations and the use of endnotes). Endnotes are permitted (do not use footnotes), but should also be kept to a minimum. While TRIC/RTAC verifies notes, references, and quotations as staff time permits, accuracy in these areas remains the responsibility of the contributor and any errors may delay publication significantly.

Peer Review Process

All submissions (with the exception of book reviews and Forum essays) are blind reviewed by at least two scholars familiar with the content and/or methodology of the article. Once all peer reviews have been received the editor will compile a response to the author, including observations from the reviewers as well as from the editor. Articles so reviewed may be accepted for publication with minor editorial suggestions, accepted for publication with major editorial suggestions, recommended for reworking and resubmission (including a possible second peer reviewing stage), or not recommended for publication.

Submission Response Schedule

Theatre Research in Canada / Recherches Théâtrales au Canada will make every effort to process article submissions in a responsive, efficient manner. Under normal conditions, an author should receive an email acknowledgement from the journal within one week of receipt of a submission. Within the next four weeks the author should be informed as to whether or not the submission has been accepted for peer review. The journal anticipates that peer-review assessments will be completed and returned to our office within eight to twelve weeks. Therefore, under normal conditions, a submitting author should receive a summary of the review assessments no later than three to six months following the journal’s receipt of the submission. If the journal experiences delays in the return of assessments, or if assessments need to be reassigned for any reason, the submitting author will be notified. Submitting authors who receive a positive assessment summary are requested to complete all necessary revisions and resubmit the finalized article within twelve additional weeks.

Peer Review Advice

Authors might bear in mind the following questions we ask our peer reviewers to consider when reviewing new submissions:

(i) Research and Content

Is the historical, theoretical, literary, critical and/or performance approach sufficient to support the argument given in the paper? Are there missing sources that should be consulted in addition to the ones listed? Are the sources used reliable ones? How original or valuable a contribution does the paper make to current scholarship in the field? Are key terms, phrases or definitions clearly explained and applied consistently throughout the paper? Is the central thesis (or theses) of the paper clearly stated, and are the main through lines of the argument developed throughout the paper in a logical, coherent fashion? Are there too many ideas to develop adequately within the length of article? Is there sufficient evidence being used in the paper to support the points it is making? Does the paper achieve a satisfactory balance between focus and precision of thought in combination with richness, depth and complexity of application?

(ii) Style and Structure

Consider general clarity of style and expression. Are there places where difficult syntax or sentence structure obscures meaning? Are there too many ideas conflated into a single word, term or sentence for the reader to clearly understand what is being said? Are there places where the logic of a particular argument or application becomes unclear because of confused or inadequate expression? Does the essay start and end well, clearly establishing its ideas in the opening paragraphs, and summarizing, restating and closing its case convincingly in the final paragraphs?

(iii) Technical corrections

Include such corrections as specific spelling, grammar, punctuation, syntax, referencing and bibliographic errors in your assessment with reference to line and page number.

Style guide

Please review and follow this style guide carefully before submitting your article to TRIC/RTAC.

In general TRIC/RTAC follows the MLA conventions as currently outlined in MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing – 3rd Edition (New York: Modern Language Association, 2008). For spelling, we use the Oxford Canadian Dictionary (2nd ed. 2004) for consistency.

A few points of note, particularly as they relate to TRIC/RTAC’s House Style:

  • Indicate editorial ellipses with brackets < [. . .] > to differentiate those from ellipses appearing in original texts. This is useful for us because so often play dialogue will contain ellipses.
  • Use a single space between sentences.
  • There should be no space between the word and M-dash
  • All singular nouns, proper or common, ending in “s” (including classical names etc.) uses “ ’s ” for possessive: so “Sears’s Harlem Duet” etc.
  • Insert hard spaces in ellipses [. . .] (use Ctrl+Shft+space)
  • Parentheses and quotation marks or other punctuation etc [,()/.] associated with italicized text are not italicized, as in “he doesn’t read Hamlet” not “he doesn’t read Hamlet”
  • Write out numbers lower than 100; use numerals for numbers 100+.
  • Dates with “century” always written out: not 18th century but eighteenth century
  • Unless in quotations: Quebec/Montreal/Quebecois, not Québec/Montréal/Québécois
  • Use single quote marks for quotations within quotations, whether integrated into text or inset
  • Punctuation with Parenthetical Reference: when using part of a text that has no reference: place punctuation mark prior to quotation mark. [I.e.: end of quote.”] When using part of a text that does have a reference: quotation mark, then (ref), then punctuation. [ I.e.: end of quote” (Brown 14). ] When referencing a quotation that is set off from the text: punctuation, parenthetical reference, no quotation marks. [ I.e.: end of quote. (Brown 14) ]
  • Months should be written out in full, except in Works Cited entries where MLA conventions hold for abbrevs.
  • Check length of quotations and set off from text if too long: approx 200 characters (including spaces) = 3+lines of text in printed fontformat, so any quotation more than about 225 characters (including spaces) should be set as indent quote (even though in the Word files it will look too short, when it is printed it will look right)
  • Use the “Oxford” comma (include comma before final conjunction in any list: so < red, black, and purple dresses >)
  • Page spans should be abbreviated past 100 (but not 1-99). For example, 85-86 is correct but 185-186 should be 185-86.
  • For consistency use “article” instead of “essay”
  • The United States should appear as US, not USA.
  • Smith, John and Jane Smith, eds. is correct but it should appear as Ed. not Eds. when listed in the middle of a citation, even with more than one editor. Blow, Joe. “Holy Smoke.” Believe it or Not! Ed. John Smith and Jane Smith. New York: Routledge, 2001. Print.
  • Works Cited: Make sure all citations specify the type of document with regards to print or web sources. ‘Print’ should be the last thing on the line; ‘web’ is followed by the date accessed. For web citations, ensure that N.d and/or N.p are inserted when no date or no publisher are specified.
  • Please ensure that Works Cited page is the last segment in the document. It should come after Endnotes.

French-language articles require greater flexibility in applying MLA conventions, though attempt is made to accommodate (for example, French punctuation rules indicate leaving a space before colons etc… so where colons occur in French citations in French-language articles, the MLA format is adjusted). This is also the case for quotation marks, semi-colons, question marks, and exclamation points.

Faites parvenir vos manuscrits en anglais ou en français à tric.rtac@utoronto.ca.

Rédacteur
Recherches théâtrales au Canada
Centre for Drama, Theatre and Performance Studies
Université de Toronto
214, rue College
Toronto, ON
M5T 2Z9 Canada
Télécopieur : 1-416-971-1378
Courriel : tric.rtac@utoronto.ca
Site Web : http://www.tricrtac.ca

Recherches théâtrales au Canada / Theatre Research in Canada vous invite à soumettre des articles qui font appel à diverses approches critiques appliquées à l’étude du théâtre et de la performance dans le contexte des cultures du Canada et du Québec. La section Forum (non arbitrée), est réservée aux exposés de principes, aux commentaires sur des enjeux d’intérêt pour la revue, aux renseignements sur des projets anciens ou nouveaux et aux notes de recherche.  Elle peut aussi contenir des notes bibliographiques annotées, habituellement annexées aux articles.

Tous les articles soumis sont arbitrés par des pairs (voir le processus d’évaluation). Ils ne comptent pas plus de 7 000 mots et sont rédigés à double interligne suivant le protocole du MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing–3rd Ed. (New York: Modern Language Association, 2008). Les auteurs sont priés de soumettre leur article par courrier électronique (format Word), accompagné d’un résumé et d’une brève notice biographique, avec un minimum de formatage (à part la mise en retrait des citations et les notes de fin de document). Les notes de fin de document peuvent être employées (et non les notes de bas de page), mais en nombre limité. L’équipe de TRIC/RTAC vérifie les notes, références et citations si possible, mais il incombe aux contributeurs de voir à leur exactitude.Toute erreur peut entraîner des délais de publication importants.

Processus d’évaluation par les pairs

Tous les articles sont soumis à au moins deux évaluateurs qui connaissent le domaine et/ou la méthodologie de l’article. Une fois les évaluations reçues, la rédaction se charge de les compiler et de faire parvenir aux auteurs les commentaires des évaluateurs et ceux de la rédaction.  Les articles peuvent être acceptés pour publication avec des révisions mineures, acceptés pour publication avec des révisions majeures et devant faire l’objet d’un travail de réécriture avant d’être soumis à nouveau (avec la possibilité d’une deuxième évaluation), non accepté pour publication.

Délai de réponse

Recherches théâtrales au Canada / Theatre Research in Canada s’assurera que les demandes de publication d’articles soient traitées de manière rapide et efficace. Normalement, l’auteur recevra un accusé de réception par courriel de la part de la rédaction dans la semaine suivant la réception de son article. Dans les quatre semaines suivantes, l’auteur devrait savoir si son article a été retenu pour l’évaluation par des pairs. Ces évaluations devraient par la suite être complétées et retournées à la rédaction dans les huit à douze semaines suivantes. Ainsi, dans des conditions normales, l’auteur devrait recevoir les résultats de l’évaluation dans les trois à six mois suivant la réception de l’article par la revue. S’il y a des délais dans l’évaluation, c’est-à-dire si les évaluateurs tardent à renvoyer leurs commentaires ou s’il faut, pour une raison ou une autre, confier l’évaluation à une autre personne, l’auteur en sera avisé. Advenant une évaluation positive, l’auteur devra apporter toutes les corrections nécessaires et remettre la version finale de son article dans les douze semaines suivantes.

Critères de l’évaluation par les pairs

L’évaluation des articles est faite selon les critères suivants:

(i) Recherche et contenu

La démarche historique, théorique, littéraire, critique et/ou relative à la performance sert-elle à appuyer l’argumentation? Faut-il ajouter des ouvrages à consulter dans la liste des ouvrages de référence? Les sources citées sont-elles fiables? La contribution de cet article à la recherche dans le domaine est-elle originale et valable? Les définitions, les citations et les termes clés sont-ils clairement expliqués et utilisés de façon uniforme dans l’ensemble de l’article? La thèse centrale (ou les thèses centrales) est-elle clairement exprimée, et les points principaux de l’argument sont-ils développés avec logique et cohérence? L’article contient-il trop ou trop peu d’idées pour être développé adéquatement? Est-ce que l’auteur présente suffisamment de preuves pour appuyer ses arguments? Parvient-il à équilibrer la précision de la pensée, la richesse, la profondeur et la complexité de sa mise en application?

(ii) Style et structure

Examinez, dans son ensemble, la clarté du style et des moyens d’expression. Y a-t-il des passages où la syntaxe entrave la compréhension? Y a-y-il un manque de clarté dans le vocabulaire qui nuit à la compréhension du lecteur? Y a-t-il des passages où la logique d’un argument est embrouillée par une expression mal choisie? Le début et la fin de l’article sont-ils solides? L’objet de l’analyse est-il clairement expliqué dans les premiers paragraphes et la conclusion est-elle reliée de façon convaincante à l’objet de la recherche présenté en début d’analyse?

(iii) Langue et références

Signaler les éléments tels que les fautes d’orthographe, de grammaire, de ponctuation ou de syntaxe, les références fautives et les erreurs de nature bibliographique, en précisant la ligne et la page à laquelle ils se trouvent.

Protocole de rédaction

TRIC/RTAC suit le modèle proposé dans MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing – 3rd Edition (New York: Modern Language Association, 2008).  Pour les articles en anglais, se reporter au Oxford Canadian Dictionary.  Pour les articles en français, se reporter au dictionnaire Le Petit Robert.

Quelques points sur la politique éditoriale de TRIC/RTAC:

  • La revue privilégie l’usage des crochets  « [. . .] » pour indiquer la troncation faite par l’auteur de l’article à l’intérieur d’une citation, afin de la distinguer des points de suspension déjà contenus dans le texte original  Cette distinction est utile pour nous car les textes dramatiques contiennent souvent des points de suspension.
  • Insérer des espaces entre les points de suspension [. . .]
  • Mettre un seul espace après le point à la fin d’une phrase.
  • Ne pas mettre d’espace entre le mot et le tiret long.
  • Les mots se terminant en anglais par un « s », (incluant les noms connus, etc.) prennent le « ‘s » pour indiquer le possessif (Searss Harlem Duet).
  • Ne pas mettre en italiques les parenthèses, guillemets et autres signes de ponctuation [,\(\)/.] accompagnant un texte en italiques.
  • Les nombres inférieurs à 100 s’écrivent en lettres ; utiliser les chiffres pour les nombres supérieurs à 100.
  • Les siècles s’écrivent en lettres : dix-huitième siècle.
  • Sauf pour les citations, qui reproduisent le texte intégralement, écrire  Quebec, Montreal ou Quebecois en anglais et Québec, Montréal et Québécois en français.
  • Utiliser les guillemets anglais pour les citations à l’intérieur des citations, qu’elles soient intégrées au texte ou non (« “ ” »).
  • Ponctuation et références entre parenthèses : lorsque le texte cité n’est pas suivi d’une référence, le point se met à l’intérieur des guillemets [fin de la citation. »]. Lorsque le texte cité est suivi d’une référence, le point se met après la référence [ fin de la citation » (Brown 14).] Lorsque la référence suit une citation placée en retrait, la citation n’est pas mise entre guillemets et le point se met après la citation [fin de citation. (Brown 14)].
  • Les mois s’écrivent en entier sauf lorsque le guide MLA permet des abréviations dans la liste des ouvrages mentionnés.
  • Les citations d’environ 200 caractères ou plus, incluant les espaces, sont mises en retrait. Les citations de plus de 3 lignes dépassent habituellement 225 caractères et elles doivent être mises en retrait même si elles semblent courtes.  Une fois imprimées, elles auront le format souhaité.
  • Les numéros des pages citées sont abrégés lorsqu’ils dépassent 100.  Par exemple,  les pages 185 à 187 s’écrivent : 185-86.
  • Se référer à votre « article » plutôt qu’à votre « essai ».
  • Les lettres majuscules conservent l’accent : États-Unis.
  • L’abréviation d’États-Unis est É.-U.
  • Utiliser Ed. pour indiquer les directeurs de l’ouvrage, même s’il y en a plusieurs :  Forsyth, Louise, « La Troupe du Jour de Saskatoon : une compagnie-laboratoire. » Les théâtres professionnels du Canada francophone : entre mémoire et rupture. Ed. Hélène Beauchamp et Joël Beddows. Ottawa: Le Nordir, 2001. 135-150. Imprimé.
  • Ouvrages cités : s’assurer que les citations indiquent si le document est imprimé ou électronique.  « Imprimé » est la dernière information apparaissant dans la référence, alors que « web » est suivi de la date de consultation.  Pour les citations à partir de documents électroniques, indiquer N.d. et N.p. lorsque la date et le lieu de publication ne sont pas mentionnés à la source.
  • S’assurer que la liste des « Ouvrages Cités » apparaît après les notes de fin de document.

Les articles rédigés en français demandent plus de latitude dans l’application des règles de MLA afin de tenir compte des exigences typographiques des textes de langue française (par exemple, certains signes de ponctuation comme les deux-points, le point-virgule, les guillemets, les points d’exclamation et les points d’interrogation sont entourés d’un espace).